As part of the 14th Max and Iris Stern International Symposium and in conjunction with the exhibition Terror Contagion, the MAC is partnering with the Cinémathèque québécoise to present a cycle of films by Laura Poitras.

From March 8 to 12, 2022, see four films by this renowned documentary filmmaker on the big screen.

The first film of her 9/11 trilogy, My Country, My Country (2006), documents the US occupation of Iraq. Part two, The Oath (2010), focuses on the Guantánamo Bay prison and Al Qaeda. In Risk (2016), Laura Poitras turns her camera on a controversial figure: WikiLeaks publisher Julian Assange.

Lastly, Citizenfour (2014), the third part of her 9/11 trilogy and recipient of the Oscar for best documentary in 2015 focuses on whistleblower Edward Snowden. Poitras’s reporting on NSA mass surveillance and Edward Snowden received the Pulitzer Prize for Public Service.


Films program

  • March 8, 2022 at 9:00 pm: My Country, My Country
  • March 9, 2022 at 6:30 pm: The Oath
  • March 10, 2022 at 9:00 pm: Risk
  • March 12, 2022 at 6:00 pm: Citizenfour



15% discount offered to MAC members at all times at La Cinémathèque québécoise!